Our Facilities

 

 

Our church, consecrated in 1810, is a gem of Federal architecture set on 65 magnificent acres including a beautifully landscaped historic Churchyard and the natural beauty of the Glebe and woodlands.

Our Chapel-in-the-Woods, down the hill behind the main parking lot beside Beaver Dam Creek, provides for outdoor worship in a soaring grove of hemlocks.

 

The Rectory was built in 1811 and expanded in 1822.

 

The Parish House, enlarged in 1960 and in 1999, houses the church offices, library, Fellowship Room and church school classrooms. It is dedicated as a memorial to those who died in World War II and in honor of all who served. The spacious Fellowship Room is available to community groups for events.

 

 

The Churchyard, bordering on Beaver Dam Creek and extending toward the eastern edge of the Glebe, serves as the burial ground for St. Matthew's.

 

Beyond the creek, the Arthur Ketchum Preserve, named for a longtime rector of St. Matthew's, spans 25 acres for hiking and exploring God's glorious outdoors.  St. Matthew's has 50 acres of wooded lands and one mile of stream front along the Beaver Dam Brook.

.

 

The remarkable beauty of our buildings and grounds is due in part to the ongoing efforts of our Property Commission, Churchyard Commission, Woodlands Commission, and many parishioner volunteers on Spring and Fall cleanup days.